A Society of Denial

Hello summer!! o wait, not yet. THREE more days of school and it will be. I think the weather is just as anxious as I am, today feels just like summer. Personally 80 degrees feels like the perfect temperature. 🙂 

Woke up to birds chirping and sun in my eyes, it was early, like 7 o’clock early as a result of my early night last night. But I didn’t care,  I wanted to get up and enjoy the sun. So I grabbed my morning cup of joe and my book and headed to the front porch. People were already out playing tennis across the street so I watched them, listened to the birds and watched the squirrels play while reading.

As much as I was enjoying the warmth on my skin and the pleasantness that is Saturday, I still felt so apathetic. I have felt this way for some time and I’m tired of it. I wonder if all along I have been suppressing my desires that now i’ts hard to feel them fully.

But as I watched the squirrels playing, blissful in the simple life they know I realized that I am not the only one. As a society, we have become this way. We need to feel life again. Humans were made to feel, to play like the squirrels, to appreciate the stars and the sun, to cry over loss, to get angry at times.

“It seems to me we can never give up longing and wishing while we are alive. There are certain things we feel to be beautiful and good, and we must hunger for them.” – George Eliot

I know we all hunger for these things, but it’s as if we’re afraid of it and suppress it to try to be happy. And then we settle for the mundane of our everyday routines. “the people who walk in great darkness have adjusted their eyes.“(Eldredge) What become’s of this hunger? Does it remain underneath? Do we end up subconsciously searching to satisfy it in other areas? Does it just fade away? Has my want and desire left or will it show itself in  my emotions again?

“The danger is that the soul should persuade itself that it is not hungry. It can only persuade itself of this by lying.” -Simone Well.

The hunger of the soul… we all have it, or had it at one point. The wanting for something. We are ment to feel it and to want to persue it. Are we all scared to admit that we want something more out of life? that we are not satisfied? Our souls are hungry, that’s a fact of humanity. When we deny this we are lying and worse, we are killing ourselve. Lies are deceptive, they take us away from God, from truth, from beauty, from being the greatest that we can be. They take us away from the drive that gives us life.

I am tired of apathy and refuse to live in denial/deprivation. My soul is hungry for more

Suppression is no way to live, we have emotions, passions and desires. We are hungry.

“we were made to live in a world of beauty, wonder, intimacy and adventure all of our day” (Eldredge) we were made to feel, its why God gave us a heart, to pump life through our vains.

Leave a Reply

